Falmouth Academy Students Shine at MIT

Falmouth Academy students shined at the Massachusetts Science and Engineering Fair held at MIT on May 3rd and 4th. Science Chair Ms. Jill Reves said at All-School Meeting, “This is my favorite weekend of the year and I’m privileged to accompany our students. They represented Falmouth Academy beautifully.” Eight students presented (see list of names below) and three won first place prizes. Congratulations to Noah Glasgow ’21, Emma Keeler ’19, and Saniya Rajagopal ’21.


Noah received the Novartis Life Science first place award for his project “The Acidifying Ocean’s Effect on Protease Activity in Alteromonas.” Emma won the Moderna Therapeutics Award and the Cabot Corporation first place award for her research, “The Classification of Fungal Derivatives with Clinical Potential.” Saniya won the 2019 STEM Power first place award for her study of “Behavioral Response of Coral to Anthropogenic Noise.”


Noah joins an esteemed group of student scientists who will advance to the 2019 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) which will be held in Phoenix, AZ, from May 12 to 17. More than 1800 students from 75 countries (20 from Massachusetts) will compete for $4 million in prizes. Falmouth Academy students have done very well at the Intel-ISEF in recent years. In 2018 Emma Keeler ’19 was awarded second place in the microbiology division for her project on prospecting hydrothermal environments for new sources of antibiotic compounds. In 2017, Théo Guérin '17 and Charlie Fenske '18 won the 2nd place award in Engineering Mechanics, the 1st place NASA Special Award, and the 3rd place Society of Experimental Test Pilots Special Award.


Noah will move to the lab of Dr. Virginia Edgcomb at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution this summer to continue his work in the area of environmental oceanography. This work will be supported by a generous grant Noah received from the Marjot Foundation.


Blog cover photo (L-R): Ruby Gaetani ’21, Saniya Rajagopal ’21, Natalie Todd-Weinstein ’21, Silas Clark ’21, Noah Glasgow ’21, Emma Keeler ’19, Sarah Thieler ’22, and James Goldbach ’21


Photos: (Top) Noah Glasgow, (Middle) Emma Keeler, (Lower) Saniya Rajagopal